Meeting John

Friday, 16th March 2007 at 23:01 UTC Leave a comment

I went to a meeting in the University Atrium today with John McDonnell, who’s looking to be the next leader of the Labour party. Anyhow, all I can say is that he has a hell of a job ahead of him, but he seems quite prepared to try. I respect him a lot for this, and for the manner in which he’s gone about his campaign. This is the guy who argued for several months that there shouldn’t be a left-wing contender to Brown, only to be convinced by grassroots activists to stand!

I really hope that he can get the 44 MP signatures required to put his name on the ballot, and that there is a real election process followed by a period of reflection on the issues. I’d be pretty loath to get involved in the campaign, there being better uses of my time, but the message this one man could send to the heart of the establishment could be enormous, and I agree with most of his policies. I guess his is a similar cause to Barack Obama, who I feel perhaps slightly more excited about.

Entry filed under: Barack Obama, Elections, Politics.

A Collision of Movements? Out of sight, out of mind, out of time?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Twitter Updates

Blog Stats

  • 75,837 visits

Copyright Info