Indigenous Rights start at home

Monday, 26th March 2007 at 1:58 UTC Leave a comment

Well, nearly.  I guess I’d always assumed that fighting (though mostly all I manage is complaining) for indigenous rights was something I did to support people in far off lands.  Turns out that the Crofters, the inhabitants of the highlands and islands of Scotland, want to recognised by the UN as Indigenous, so they can have a people’s assembly.  I totally support Scottish independence, but it seems that alone isn’t enough.  So I guess if I want to claim to support indigenous struggles everywhere, I better start supporting the indigenous folks of Scotland.  While I’m glad to say I support them in their attempts to get this important recognition, this reminds me of the potential danger of making grand generalised statements about who I will and won’t support.

Entry filed under: Activism, Culture, Freedom, Human Rights, Indigenous Rights, Participation.

Putin’s Iron Fist strikes again Monday Action: On yer bike, its Critical Mass time!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Twitter Updates

Blog Stats

  • 76,179 visits

Copyright Info