Monday Action: Plastic Bags? No thanks!

Monday, 30th April 2007 at 9:00 UTC 1 comment

See also Monday Actions for more.

Inspired by the Devonshire town of Modbury and my general annoyance at the number of times I’m asked if I want a carrier bag in shops, I’ve decided that its time every else took on the challenge of turning down plastic carrier bags as often as possible.  When you’re offered a bag at the checkout, Just Say NO!

Modbury is going plastic-carrier free after the work of a wildlife camerawoman who has seen first hand just how many of the bags end up at sea, and this endangering what precious sea life there still is.

In fact, I’m not even sure that the recommended alternative of reusable hemp or jute bags is really that great; just remember to take a rucksack around with you, that way you can cycle with your stuff too, and your hangs won’t hurt.  Besides, the reusable bags still need to be made and transported, and don’t last as long as a proper rucksack.  Also, recycling is hardly the answer when we didn’t the things in the first place.

I’ve had to turn down bags for a single book, for a pack of sandwiches and a drink that I ate within two minutes of leaving the shop and for just about anything else I’ve bought lately.  Given the number of people who will accept such things, just imagine how much oil is being wasted, how much carbon dioxide (and worse) has been produced and how many creatures will suffer, from all this waste.  Best of all, you won’t have to dispose of so many unwanted bags.

Entry filed under: Environment, Monday Action, News.

We apologise for delays to this service… Youth Creativity Trampled On

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Betty  |  Monday, 30th April 2007 at 11:26 UTC

    Along the same theme, my local Tesco will only give me green clubcard points if i re-use a plastic, not if I turn down one inorder to put it into my “normal” bag. This annoys me; I want my free two pence.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Twitter Updates

  • RT @tristandross: this is extremely bad. sarah champion must be sacked. inexplicable to defend her + dishonestly reframe what she said http… - 3 days ago

Blog Stats

  • 75,921 visits

Copyright Info