Am I really this subjective?

Wednesday, 15th August 2007 at 8:00 UTC Leave a comment

I happen to support considerate squatting (yes, such a thing exists), and to have supported members of the armed forces who have held their consciences above their commanding officers, especially Israeli troops feeling the pinch when told to brutalise Palestinians. But last week, I saw a news-story which represented an exception for both, and I was challenged by how subjective I can be.

I can’t provide a link to this story, as I’m sat on a staircase in a building with no wifi and its too late to go plug into the network. So I apologize. But anyway, this story was in various papers in one guise or another. It concerns attempts to move some 200 settlers who were squatting in Hebron, and the dozen or so army personnel who felt they had to object and refuse to take part in the operation.

I shan’t cover all the politics here, but the settlements in Hebron are some of the most zealously held spots in the Israeli occupation of Palestine. But what struck me was how, when the people who will benefit are the big bullies on the block, suddenly every normal reaction I have to squatting and mutinying becomes the opposite. I hope this doesn’t make me prejudiced or anything, its just my tendency to support certain actions without looking for the times when I might have to lay that ideal down, and instead finding things difficult when the problems do come along.

Entry filed under: News, Peace, Politics.

The Irrelevance of Winning The Media Rules

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Blog Stats

  • 75,603 visits

Copyright Info