Did you see the news?

Saturday, 14th June 2008 at 9:01 UTC 2 comments

I know its unusual for me to post on Saturdays but I just wanted to check that everyone saw what happened to a coal train just 20 miles south of where I’m sat right now. A group of activists brought the 2000 ton train to a stand still and then started emptying it onto the tracks, setting up home for the night inside the train and generally making sure that the train is going nowhere. I’d been getting really demotivated lately, but this has just shattered the state of jadedness I’ve been in for several days. Go read all about it: BBC News, Indymedia, Pictures on Indymedia, TheCoalHole.org

Its amazing how a small group of people can go do something hugely audacious, and how it can really inspire people to get moving and take action. We don’t all have to do things that are as spectacular as this, but if just 10,000 people took action, we could actually stop a whole new power station from being built. Next stop: Climate Camp, Kingsnorth Powerstation, Kent, 3rd to 11th August. See you there… (and if you’re a Christian, bring lots of mugs!)

Entry filed under: Activism, democracy, Environment, News, Participation, Politics.

A Challenge from the Past Wealth Creation = Injustice

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ruth  |  Sunday, 15th June 2008 at 9:52 UTC

    I did. And was much impressed. I have to say, I’d probably disagree with the protesters over issues such as nuclear power, but can agree with their horror at the continuing use of coal power stations which *everyone* can agree is hideously dirty!

    Reply
  • 2. Graham Martin  |  Sunday, 15th June 2008 at 14:23 UTC

    *Everyone*? I just wish that were true. And visiting the area of Kingsnorth over the next few days, I’m reckoning I’ll be hearing a lot of excuses for coal, but hey.

    By way of update, the 27 arrested persons were taken to a police station in Leeds and charged with a couple of rather scary sounding things, at least one of which I suspect will get downgraded along the way. We should probably expect trials in Leeds courts, possibly in York though. The train is still on the track where they left it, and I spotted a crane at about the scene of the incident as my train to London sped past the spur to Drax.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Twitter Updates

Blog Stats

  • 76,879 visits

Copyright Info