I get by with a little help…

Tuesday, 24th June 2008 at 10:25 UTC 6 comments

I posted the following status update to facebook: “is a bit worried. Apparently a colleague might have been in work with Glandular.” It was a sudden-horror response to someone’s comment in the office about a colleague who’s phoned in sick, who had apparently been working despite a doctor telling them to do otherwise. And then I just got on with the day, just not feeling quite so confident as before.

Anyhow, my friends must include a weirdly high number of medical-types: multiple first aiders, pharmacists and nurses, a first aider/mid-wife, 2 first aider/trainee-doctors, someone who passes for a psychiatrist (regularly) and probably more. Barely 10 minutes later, and this was written on my wall:

“S’okay – it’s not that infectious. I lived in the same house as someone with
glandular fever for six months and didn’t catch it. Generally, you have to have
fairly close contact with someone… there is a reason it’s called ‘kissing
disease.’

Obviously, if you do catch it, I’ll have to eat my words. Keep me updated!!! xx”

Barring the final line coming true, I find myself yet again incredibly thankful to all my friends who:

  1. Aren’t squeemish enough to be put off training as a medic.
  2. Have found the time to study how to keep human beings in one piece and a normal operating state.
  3. Continually save me ringing the doctors and/or stressing.

I recently had a moment where I could really have done with a medic on hand, and sadly I had to walk a block to find one. This made has made me rediculously thankful for all the times I’ve been in the presence of a friend who’s simply gone “oh Graham, why?!” and got on with treating the fruits of my stupidity. And also for the times I’ve missed a dose of something and had a friend advise on catching up (once logging themselves back into the BNF online and searching out text for me, having just finished studying for the day). I’ve been spared casualty on more than one occasion, as well as given advice down the phone whilst nearly keeling over due to seeing my own blood.

So yes, thank you to all of you, you really are a massive help and I live a better life because of you.

Entry filed under: Friends, Health.

I wish I could boycott China Finding a work ethic that works

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. brainduck  |  Tuesday, 24th June 2008 at 11:36 UTC

    Dunno if it’s the same house, but you probably know that one of my housemates had it & none of the rest of us got it.
    Basically try to avoid snogging the person in question, do the washing-up thoroughly, & don’t share towels, and you should be OK (actually you aren’t very likely to catch it even if you do all these things, and most people catch it from asymptomatic carriers not ill people). You’ve quite possibly already had it without noticing, many people have.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/health/conditions/glandularfever2.shtml
    http://www.nhsdirect.nhs.uk/articles/article.aspx?articleid=213#
    Now stop worrying!

    BTW it’s psychologist, not psychiatrist šŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 2. Graham Martin  |  Tuesday, 24th June 2008 at 12:27 UTC

    Different house. I guess I wasn’t given glandular by your house mate either. And fine, you’re a psychologist, but that doesn’t change the fact I ring you first whenever I need a mental health spec.

    Reply
  • 3. brainduck  |  Tuesday, 24th June 2008 at 12:53 UTC

    Oh dear… I don’t prescribe (ssssh!) & I’ve not done a medical degree, therefore not psychiatrist. Not clinical psychologist either – you’d better hope none of us finishes you off with a bit of ‘experimental treatment’!

    Reply
  • 4. Graham Martin  |  Tuesday, 24th June 2008 at 13:47 UTC

    Is that what the flapjack was? :^

    Reply
  • 5. brainduck  |  Tuesday, 24th June 2008 at 14:18 UTC

    Oh yes.

    I regularly have cause to be grateful for my pet Geeks, on the other hand (even if they refuse to admit Geek-ness, even whilst installing Linux on my computer…).

    Reply
  • 6. Froth  |  Tuesday, 24th June 2008 at 14:51 UTC

    I got it off an asymptomatic carrier, and don’t seem to have given it to anyone, despite sharing water bottles at LARP occasionally. I’m Bunny, obviously. I ought to be revising, and instead I am here. Typical.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Twitter Updates

  • Now got a power cut at work. We need spending on smart grids and nationalisation of energy. - 1 week ago

Blog Stats

  • 75,744 visits

Copyright Info