Refreshingly deleted

Thursday, 17th July 2008 at 7:13 UTC 2 comments

Having just said I had a lot of posts saved on RSS to write blog posts from, I’ve now deleted a whole chunk, maybe as many as 10, and they all had one thing in common: Anglican Squabbling. It should be an event at the Olympics. Its just pissing me off. All these people threatening to do everything under the sun because their narrow reading of the bible isn’t the only one being used. The attempts to twist what everyone else is saying. Grumble.

Just realised I don’t actually use that word at all except when writing this blog’s address down for people. Anyhow, I just don’t get how people can be so lacking in humility and concern for individual’s well-being. Much as I find it sickening when people do it, I’ve seen almost none of the usual “crying because someone is suffering in sin” moments; its all been finger pointing, posturing, power-grabbing and such.

From a peace studies point of view, its turning into a sort of Protracted Social Conflict, in some ways its becoming a turf-war where the original starting positions are almost entirely forgotten. For an outsider, the church must clearly appear to be about leadership and supporting the person one thinks God has put in charge, not tending the flocks (patronising though that may sound) and looking after those suffering in body, mind and spirit. Synod, at least, did something to reassure me that even at the ‘top’ of the church, there was interest in the ‘bottom’s welfare.

To simply ignore the international goings-ons would be to become a church of isolated bodies, lacking any sense of real communion, and so I guess its onwards with trying to calm everyone down and loosen the joints enough that the whole being of the Anglican Communion can co-exist. But for now, I’m afraid, the whole thing is beyond me. Which is a pity, because I might actually drop in on Canterbury next week, in which case Lambeth won’t just be sitting in my RSS feed reader’s “unread” queue.

Entry filed under: Church, News, Religion.

I guess its what you value What a waste

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. brainduck  |  Tuesday, 22nd July 2008 at 18:02 UTC

    why do you need a ‘top’ and ‘bottom’ anyway?

    Reply
  • 2. Graham Martin  |  Thursday, 24th July 2008 at 10:19 UTC

    I’d love to say “we don’t” but it does appear that this mindset of needing leadership is rather pervasive. And while I talking about the two distinct groupings, I wasn’t condoning them, merely stating it was nice to hear “friendly noises” from the ‘top’.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Twitter Updates

  • RT @susannahcm: Wow whats happening with Airbus the arms company apparently theyre getting hammered by the Serious Fraud Office for corrupt… - 1 day ago

Blog Stats

  • 75,194 visits

Copyright Info