Froth: Advertising Angers Me

Saturday, 6th June 2009 at 8:00 UTC Leave a comment

So this one comes from good friend and author of “Frothing at the Brain”, a blog I think I partly inspired into being. OK, I flatter myself. Anyhow, there’s plenty of feminist rants, but this latest I thought was particularly pertinent given how many people have been trying to give themselves skin cancer over last weekend: “fear not, surgery will save you!”

“Until you want a permanent lift, there’s always Revitalift”

That is the tagline for the ‘Revitalift’ brand of beauty products. It never fails to make me bristle.
‘Until’.
The assumptions are breathtaking. Every woman – and these products are intended solely for women – will want a surgical facelift at some point in her life.

Let me repeat that:

Every woman will want a surgical facelift.

Every woman will grow old and wrinkly, and will be so ashamed of these changes that she will have herself knocked out and the skin of her face cut up and stitched back together, in the name of looking younger.
But we’re not stupid; we won’t want to do that while we can get by with using moisturisers and tighteners and silicon fillers and encapsulated vitamin creams, so Revitalift has helpfully stepped in to provide that necessary stepping stone between acceptably youthful skin and surgery.

I hate this, because not every woman will ‘want a permanent lift’. Many will be content to grow old. Many will be discontent, but not want the expense, the discomfort, the risk, the scarring, and the less than perfect results of surgery. Some will want and some will have surgery, for complex reasons that are unique to each case. And that’s okay. There’s no ‘until’; there’s a huge mass of overlapping ifs and unlesses.

Revitalift’s advertising ascribes an importance to appearance that horrifies me. I can hardly process my distaste sufficiently to explain it.

.

T’s and C’s: You send me the post or a link to it, and if I decide to include it, I copy and paste it across to my blog. Please supply a name to be posted under (pseudonyms are fine), or state a desire for anonymity, and tell me whether or not to link back to an original post/your blog. Posts do not have to already have appeared on a blog, or indeed online, must be substantially your own work, and broadly fit the Feminism/Gender theme.

Entry filed under: Guest, Health, Marketing, Women.

Words without actions mean nothing Celebrity to save Brown government

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Twitter Updates

Blog Stats

  • 76,173 visits

Copyright Info