My big fundraising cycle adventure

Monday, 17th August 2009 at 8:00 UTC 1 comment

I wouldn’t normally use my blog for something like this, but I thought some of you might be interested to know why my postings are about to become less frequent. As I’m going to be working as a volunteer Social Action rep for St Mike’s and volunteer Administrator for Transcendence, I have to raise my own living somehow, and for the first few months, that’s going to have to be fundraising. So, tomorrow I set off on 240 miles of cycling to reach Soul Survivor.

It’ll take 4 days, with nights in Sheffield, Birmingham, somewhere near Cheltenham or Gloucester and then staying at a friend’s house in Frome on Friday night. The significance being, I can get a hot shower and make a leisurely hop of about 10 miles to the Bath and West Showground for my annual dose of Soul Survivor. If I’m not mistaken, I’m being sponsored almost £1/mile, which will get me through September and October just nicely, but need a bit more.

I’ve never ridden more than about 50miles in a day, and day 2 is about 80 miles. Also, I’ve never ridden a decent distance on more than 2 consecutive days (cycled to Bradford one day, back the next, a round trip of 80 miles), so it’ll be a challenge, especially on the 3rd and 4th days, when my backside is going to hurt.

My job as Social Action rep (Parish Assistant as they’re known) will have many dimensions to it: finding ways for the church to tighten up its act on Ethics and Environment stuff, encouraging individuals to make changes to their lives and shopping habits, and to get the church active in both practical work and campaigning work. Its a bit like being an Ethics and Environment officer of a students union, but in an organisation with even less spare cash, and people who have full time jobs, kids and mortgages!

My task as administrator for Transcendence will involve work to try and figure out the mess we’re getting into because we’re growing far too quickly, and making sure there’s more people rotating on tasks so no one burns out, getting out publicity materials (probably some cycling involved!), doing some work on the “Tour”, roadying when needed, and perhaps most excitingly, making sure the resources we’re creating for ourselves don’t get hogged, and that people can get their mitts on them.

To those of you who’ve seen Transcendence, it will have been obvious we have to create a lot of material just to pull off the monthly event, and most of it is digital; the problem is getting the CD’s or DVD’s out to the people who will use them, without letting up on the pace of creativity.

Anyhow, most of you who read this blog know how passionate I am about all the stuff I’m going to be doing, especially engaging the church in challenging injustice and  neglect of the environment, and having the cash to focus down on these two roles will make me much more efficient with them. If you can sponsor me, either pop me some money at Greenbelt or in September, or get in contact some way or other if you don’t normally see me face to face. The support so far has been humbling, and I

Entry filed under: Activism, Church, Cycling, Personal.

On the Rise and Rise of Poker In Sheffield, and not in pain

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lois  |  Monday, 17th August 2009 at 12:56 UTC

    Prayers, and possibly money, coming your way. Hope it goes well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Twitter Updates

  • RT @nrturner: @gmartin There really should be a law that forces companies to disclose who the delivery company is likely to be before you c… - 1 day ago

Blog Stats

  • 76,553 visits

Copyright Info