Poll: Religion and Politics in Blogging

Tuesday, 29th September 2009 at 8:00 UTC 10 comments

I’ve been playing around with the new polls tool on WordPress.com for  a while, and have finally landed on a few questions I’d like to ask you folks. First and foremost, I’m aware my blog makes almost no attempt to split politics and religion, and frequently fails to acknowledge the moments I swerve from one to another. See below for poll…

I don’t want to say too much here, as I’d really rather avoid pushing people’s hand in deciding on a direction in which to vote. Its interesting how modern life has come to utterly divide up the two categories, and how contentious mixing them can be. Do we take the French route and exclude religion from politics so much that we marginalise those who hold to a faith? Or like the Americans, do we mix and match to the extent that people who can’t point to some kind of faith basis for their views are marginalised?Does it even matter? Should we just be ourselves and do what seems to come naturally?

If you want to discuss the question further, feel free. Its always good to have a bit of interaction on here once in a while, particularly when its a fun debate to be having. And please be honest, I don’t gurantee to follow the results, but it will help me gauge my readership better, which I kind of owe to the dozens of you who spend time reading the posts I write.

P.S. I don’t get many ratings on posts. Believe it or not, I actually find them quite useful!

Entry filed under: Politics, Religion.

Are Dog Collars on Vicars outdated? Murdoch decides it all (again!)

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Greg  |  Tuesday, 29th September 2009 at 11:15 UTC

    I cast a vote for “no preference”.

    Reply
  • 2. Lois  |  Tuesday, 29th September 2009 at 12:11 UTC

    I find it difficult to separate the two. Of course, some are more focused on political than religious (or vice versa) and of those I probably prefer the religious ones as I usually understand more of what you’re saying. But for me faith is something that affects everything, including politics, so the French-style division between the two is hard for me to maintain. Although I’m not a fan of ‘God says do this’ politics either.

    Reply
  • 3. brainduck  |  Tuesday, 29th September 2009 at 14:27 UTC

    There’s a difference?!?!?!
    Also, surely option five is equivalent to you deciding to join an order of contemplative hermits with a vow of silence?

    Reply
    • 4. Graham Martin  |  Tuesday, 29th September 2009 at 16:17 UTC

      I suppose its possible some people enjoy the smattering of non-political and non-religious posts on my blog. Would like to think such people do feel included in the poll. Results so far are interesting, but I’d like to think the number of votes will hit about 25 before I take any real notice.

      Reply
      • 5. brainduck  |  Tuesday, 29th September 2009 at 18:33 UTC

        Just don’t avoid the religion & politics all the time though – you’d have to spend the rest of your life doing nothing but playing Magic with your tongue amputated, or something.

  • 6. John  |  Wednesday, 30th September 2009 at 8:19 UTC

    I’m not sure true Christianity allows itself to be dichotimised (is that a word) into a separate category from other spheres. I realise that might sound a bit wierd – I suppose a cliche example would be Martin Luther Kings idea that anyone who read the gospel and thought it was not political was not reading the same gospel as him. I’m going to sound a bit of a Marxist when I also say I think the idea of ‘Politics’ is a boundary creation we wrap around a sphere of our lives that is only neccesary for our own desire to categorize. So if your worldview is defined by your ‘religion’ then do not try to make a separation between the 2 when you write your article.

    So from a political perspective I feel it is wrong to divide things into eg Politics and religion and ask the 2 never to be referred to in the same breath. And also from a Religious perspective it seems a bit silly. I think the big crime of the Church has been to slip into the ‘Spiritual’ and not the ‘Physical’. Creating another dichotomy.

    This probably is a completly incoherent point I have made, I have typed it quickly with little thought and more gut reaction.

    Love you Graham

    Reply
  • 7. John  |  Wednesday, 30th September 2009 at 8:29 UTC

    Having said what I wrote. It is for your political blogging that I mostly read. You highlight some interesting things and raise awareness for certain causes and create debate. Blogs about eg. the Church are still interesting and worth reading.. but the Church should be engaging in the things you talk about in your political blog and not whether how they conduct services is the best.

    Reply
  • 8. Adam  |  Wednesday, 30th September 2009 at 10:31 UTC

    I see that those who prefer exclusively political posts are now winning. I do hope that doesn’t happen.

    Reply
    • 9. Graham Martin  |  Wednesday, 30th September 2009 at 11:08 UTC

      Well, overall it seems people want mostly politics with a sprinkling of religion, which feels like something I can get behind. Bit discouraged on the lack of interest in the purely religious posts, but don’t feel these are entirely unwanted, just a focus on politics and how my religion might be applied to it. As a general temperature check, its proving quite useful in that regard.

      Reply
  • 10. Greg  |  Thursday, 1st October 2009 at 23:25 UTC

    Go on then, I’ll vote for the religious ones. There didn’t seem to be an option for, “I like your religious ones but I like your politics ones as well, but don’t want them to be kept utterly separate.” Religious comment on politics seems to be what you do best.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Twitter Updates

  • RT @tristandross: this is extremely bad. sarah champion must be sacked. inexplicable to defend her + dishonestly reframe what she said http… - 3 days ago

Blog Stats

  • 75,921 visits

Copyright Info