Personal Web Development

Sunday, 3rd January 2010 at 14:14 UTC 3 comments

This might be exciting announcement, I don’t know. It is for me. Anyhow, I’m very strongly considering (as in, trying not to rush into creating it this minute) setting up a website for myself. “But what about the blog?” Well, it has its purpose, carrying writing that is mostly timely opinion. So what will go on it, and what will it look like and how will it differ from the blog?

First of all, the blog has had many different uses over time. Does anyone actually remember “Monday Actions”? They were posts, surprisingly they were on Mondays, and they contained some action that seemed to be worth imploring people to get behind. I’m not convinced they worked at all well, and to be honest, the stats kind of betrayed that fact, as well as people’s general lack of interest in discussing them in the comments, the pub or wherever. I’m just using that as an example, by the way.

There have been October Rewrites, Guest columns, Polls, all different initiatives, but over all, what’s really happened is that, rather than expanding, the blog has settled into a groove that seems to hold relevance in its own way. I know what sort of stuff I want to put on here, and you probably know what to expect, and that in turn is probably connected to why you read it.

The blog also carries stuff “as its written”, often badly, and not in a way that’s suited to finding the best stuff. It doesn’t cope with future events and activities, it doesn’t hold any resources, it certainly doesn’t really get into providing useful links like I kind of wish it did (other than other blogs). In short, it doesn’t do a bunch of stuff that I want to do somewhere. It doesn’t say which of my posts appear in other places (a big priority for this year) and it doesn’t say a lot about myself.

I’m imagining the new website will have 3 main columns on the front page. These will be a news feed, my blog and my twitter. It will also have a menu structure, into which things like my much-circulated “Coach Organiser’s Guide” can go. So I imagine the categories will be roughly thus:

  • Writing (the high quality stuff)
  • Resources (how-to guides, etc.)
  • Reviews of publications, sites,
  • News that I want to highlight, or even report on
  • Events and initiatives that I want to flag up

Which is a lot different to the blog, where categories are more based on topics. Some things will appear both on the blog and the “Writing” category, because I’ll have written them on the blog and then decided “that’s too good to lose into the depths of time”, and I’ll copy it over.

There will also probably be a copyright change coming up. It sucks. Creative Commons is a brilliant idea, but I can’t help but notice that many of the things written under it are written by people with other sources of income. There might even have to be those dreaded GoogleAds. Yeah, sucks to be a human being. The rent doesn’t pay itself (right now the council pays it) and I can’t just eat dirt. This is as much about me growing up and developing what I seem to be OK at into things I’m actually good at, as it is about me having another hobby to spend time on.

The practical questions of Content Management System (Drupal, WordPress, etc), Themes and menu layouts will need a lot more work over the coming weeks, but a prototype website might well appear towards the tail of this week, beginning of next – or I might realise this is a really bad idea, and go do something else.

By the way, I’m trying to keep a new years resolution of 700 words maximum on the blog. This is partly because of the number of 1000 word posts at the tail of last year. Sometimes I need to say less things and say them better. Some times I just need to focus on a nice compact post about something and then get on with the rest of my day.

(699 words!)

Entry filed under: Personal, Technology.

Happy Miserable New Year Should the Church work for social or political change?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sophia  |  Sunday, 3rd January 2010 at 15:18 UTC

    Uh, people can and do make money without copyrighting ‘their’ ideas G.

    Reply
    • 2. Graham Martin  |  Sunday, 3rd January 2010 at 15:30 UTC

      Yes, but that means someone else is giving them money. At this moment, this isn’t really happening much, if at all.

      Reply
  • 3. Lois  |  Sunday, 3rd January 2010 at 22:54 UTC

    Good luck Graham. Hope it works- I look forward to seeing it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 75,614 visits

Copyright Info