How others see me

Saturday, 16th January 2010 at 17:21 UTC 1 comment

I just found a post all about me on another person’s blog. Thanks to Chris Fraser of University of York for putting a smile on my face where others might have been furious; you’ve made my day. I just love the way he manages to start on the surface, is honest without being totally dismissive, and then writes his views on my activism under that. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen someone be so honest about both at once.

I’m sure there was a time when I’d have been ridiculously pissed off to read this. If anything, I think my time at York has been a big part of learning to cope with this aspect of being grown up. Its still ‘weirds me out’ just how much people go on about my enthusiasm. I’ve been struggling to get out of bed lately, despite not being overly depressed and yet some people seem to think I’m full of life.

I guess this gets more acute if you see me at People and Planet, because its often what I hang my entire week upon – being a place of great friendships and very obvious job satisfaction; I go to meetings, people have amazing ideas, I make sure they think them through and plan them out properly, then watch them go and do something amazing. Its a massive privilege to be a part of other people’s development into alert, thinking adults who are prepared to take a stand on the issues of the day. Its the sort of job I’d feel guilty if anyone paid me for. Thinking of which, if I get rich, I owe you all a huge number of drinks!

Yes, I get the fact that sometimes I amaze people just because I mix faith and politics in a very unusual way. This is actually quite isolating in its own way, but I think I’m pretty blessed to have so many people around me who are similar enough to prevent that (you can meet a small number of them at SoundCheck at the end of February – its a brilliant conference and will really help you connect the dots between faith and activism). There is amazing strength in maintaining what is perceived as a paradox, but there is also immense room for moments of confusion and self-doubt.

Thanks Chris, for the write up. I may have to quote some of it somewhere.

Entry filed under: Activism, Faith, Fashion, Personal.

Community Snow Clearing: Labour or Tory? US Conservatives Call for Opportunism in Haiti

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Matthew  |  Saturday, 16th January 2010 at 18:40 UTC

    Don’t worry – your hair looks nothing like my Dad’s hair when he was in university. He had an afro.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Twitter Updates

  • RT @tristandross: this is extremely bad. sarah champion must be sacked. inexplicable to defend her + dishonestly reframe what she said http… - 3 days ago

Blog Stats

  • 75,921 visits

Copyright Info