Stuff what I’ve been reading

Saturday, 13th February 2010 at 9:00 UTC 1 comment

Being in Canada this last week has enabled me to sweep out all the saved posts from my RSS feed, so I thought I’d give you some of the best to chew on. From a radical-theological systemic analysis of Climate Change (ok, there has to be a better way to say that) to the writings of a Leftist Feminist Christian I came across recently, its been an interesting time catching up.

Brave New World

Adam is a good friend, and I love the depth of to which he can take things, making my writings look pretty simple by contrast. In “Brave New World”, Adam has done much more than cite consumerism as an underlying cause of Climate Change, something many authors are keen to do; he’s also put a theological basis to this, one that ties a radical theology together with familiar territory for a Climate Activist like myself.

Thinly Veiled Fear of Difference

Sometimes I’m just glad to have someone else write the same post I would have written. Thanks Lois. I could so easily have written a rant about the French government’s attitude to Islamic dress, but Lois has picked out some of the key issues whilst saving you the attached rant you might have gotten from me.

On Marriage (Part 2)

I only came across this blog a couple of weeks ago and I’m already forgetting how, but I’d recommend it. If you’re not interested in details like whether feminists should wear white dresses if they do decide to get married, Part 2 of this duet is vastly more interesting. If you’ve grown up around Christians or are a Christian in your early twenties, this post might well make you go “thank goodness someone else thinks that”. A lot of what’s wrong with churches views on marriage aren’t about public policy, they’re about social attitudes, and this post does a good job of relieving the stress of a few areas of contention.

Entry filed under: Church, Climate Change, Faith, France, Islam, Women.

Putting back the shock in injustice The “Teen Pregnancy Crisis”

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Corey James Soper  |  Wednesday, 17th February 2010 at 12:29 UTC

    That, not what.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Twitter Updates

  • RT @S2Brussels: Trade agreements are major threats for peasant farmers, say Via Campesina delegates from all continents. Together we fight… - 1 day ago

Blog Stats

  • 75,811 visits

Copyright Info